United States Department of the Treasury (USDT)

The (USDT) is a finance and treasury department of the United States of America. This Department of Treasury also known as (DoT) controls the finances and treasury of the U.S. government. The Department of Treasury of the U.S.A. is the oldest department of all and that was created by the forefathers of Congress.

It was established by the act of Congress in 1789 to manage governmental revenues. This is a part of the executive department which means the department that belongs to the president. The department is administered by the Secretary of the Treasury, who is a member of the Cabinet. Janet Yellen is the current Secretary of the Department of the Treasury. She was sworn in on January 26, 2021. The main function of this department is to collect taxes, duties, and money paid to and due to the US.



United States Department of Treasury collects all the taxes from the state and the federal of America and then this, money is used in the country for various purposes.  All the control in this department is given to the secretary of the treasury who was elected by the president of the United States and also the member of the cabinet these are those people that give advice to the president on various matters and conditions. Secretary remains on the seat at the will of the president and after that, they can also change it according to their will. The secretary manages all the things like federal taxes, duties, accounts management, and many more things like this.

The Department of Treasury (DoT) is divided into two important departments Operating Bureaus and departmental offices. One of them is Departmental Offices, which are responsible for making policies managing the departments, and then providing all the financial data to the U.S. government. On the other side, Operating bureaus perform many functions and operations that were assigned to the department and then after that also provide full financial status to the department. These bureaus perform various functions and are then subdivided into various branches like Alcohol and Tabaco tax bureau, these bureaus collect tax from all the departments of beverages.

Functions that were performed by the Department of Treasury

Some of the basic functions that are performed by the Department of the Treasury are compulsory are following

  • Producing physical coins, Stamps, and all kinds of bills to the U.S.
  • Collecting taxes, financial conditions, and various duties.
  • Managing the public statistical reports.
  • Manage all the financial expenses like federal finance.
  • Supervising all the national banks and institutes in the S.
  • Handle all government accounts and S. public debts.

And many more responsibilities that are performed by the United States Department of The Treasury.

In the 19th century, all the responsibilities that were related to the management of weight and measurements were performed by the specific officers who performed all the things on their own but in the 20th century, these responsibilities are then assigned to the various agencies that perform that tasks and these are known as the National Institute of Standards and Technology.

Leave a Comment